Don’t look back

One of the good things about doing housekeeping is the chance to see old things in new ways. Moving all my old bits of writing from one place to another let me look them over again. Now I really have some small feeling for why occasional creative people (people with real talent, unlike folks like me that just jot down random thoughts) will destroy as much of their past work as they can get their hands on. It’s one thing to look back on stuff you did in high school, or even in college, when you’re young and stupid, but when you look at clever, witty stuff you did just a few eyeblinks ago and find it’s so wretched and juvenile as to be embarrasing, that’s a big jolt to the ego. You don’t want your family to think that this is what you should be remembered for. Still, on the one hand, I don’t really care, on the other hand, it’s unlikely that anyone who knows me will ever see this, and on the other other hand, it would be sort of cheating to scrub stuff simply because I realize that it’s dumb and pre-teen now. I yam what I yam and that goes for my wranting as well. At least reading over other rantblogs makes me feel a bit better about my writing.
Well, now; now that that’s out of the way, it was a pleasure to see the sun come out tomorrow like that. Too bad I didn’t bet my bottom dollar on it; I might have made a few bucks. I think it’s going to rain some more later today, but a couple hours of sunny, coolish weather is such a pleasant change from the steamy, tropical, sunless, rain-filled days we’ve had for the past week. And by “we” I mean “not me” because I had several lovely days in the sunny north over the past weekend, but it was still a drag getting old and being back here. There’s some warbler movement going on, a couple Redstarts and such, but not anything outstanding. There were a couple Nighthawks stunting over the grocery store last evening as I was out foraging for my family, but I have no doubt that they were just passing through on their way north. I felt like I imagine the old-timers must have on seeing a small cluster of Bison or Passenger Pigeons moving through an area that they used to be abundant residents of. A vague wonder if they’ve just moved away or are really disappearing, but then there’s so much other stuff to worry about.

Leave a Reply

