Sleep – sometimes, it’s better than sex.

Melatonin’s interesting stuff.  For me, it acts like a reset button for the sleep cycle when the insomnia gets too far out of hand and I can’t recover on the weekend.  So far, 1mg does the trick and this third time is going about the same as the first two times I used it.  The first night, I woke at midnight as usual and was up for about an hour and a half.  Very groggy the next morning, though – more than normal, which is what I remember from melatonin before.  Next night, after deep sleep and strong dreams, I woke at 4am and couldn’t get back to sleep.  Very tired at work, but that’s normal with the insomnia, so no loss.  Third night (spent Friday as usual desperately exhausted), woke at 5:30 after very deep sleep and vivid dreams, up for an hour, then back to sleep for another 3 hours, so nine hours total, and almost rested.  Saturday night, conked off at 11, woke at 1:30 very groggy from a most unpleasant and vivid nightmare, but was able to get settled and back to sleep after a half-hour and slept until 6:30.  More vivid dreams, but woke normally and feel pretty rested.  I think I’ll go the whole week to see if I can get the cycle better set this time; last time, the good effects only lasted a couple weeks before the old exhausting pattern returned.

Leave a Reply

