Bird and spider news

A nice surprise this morning – a Great Crested Flycatcher making a racket down in the woody patch on the next block.  Not one for the yard list, unfortunately, but very nice nonetheless.  At first I had him pegged for a Mockingbird, since I wouldn’t have expected one here, but after several minutes of mixed ‘wheep!’s and ‘brrreeep!’s, I gave in.   It was nice to have heard the regular nesters down in Virginia on the weekend; maybe one followed me up here..

Otherwise, not much of interest; the Bowl-and-Doilys have  couple of webs up, and I saw one of the early small orb-weavers out last week (can’t recall the name offhand; Araniella or something like that).  I should be seeing the little Pirate wolf spiders in the garden plot soon, and Allocosa usually turns up about now.   The underbrick cribellates like Amaurobius and Callobius are out and about, and I’ve been seeing our indoor Theridiids putting up webs everywhere for several weeks.  No Yellow Sac spiders yet, for some reason; they’ll be up along the ceiling edges soon enough, I expect.  Also, I have to remember to check in the shed to see what sort of outdoor Steatodas we have.  I remember them being borealis, but we might have grossa instead or alongside.  The indoor ones are all triangulosa as far as I know.

Leave a Reply

